AFCON 2019: Rohr Drops Iheanacho, Ajayi From Super Eagles Squard {Read Full List}

Rohr Drops Iheanacho, Ajayi In Super Eagles 2019 AFCON Final 23-Man Squad


Super Eagles technical adviser, Gernot Rohr has dropped the duo of Kelechi Iheanacho and Semi Ajayi in the final 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, slated for Egypt this month.

Iheanacho failed to command a regular shirt in the 2018/2019 season for Leicester City in the English Premier League while Semi Ajayi will find it difficult to accept the decision, as he one was of the most consistent Nigerian players in Europe last season, he featured in over 40 games for Rotherham United.

Top on the list include Mikel Obi, Wilfred Ndidi, Odion Ighalo, Ahmed Musa, Leon Balogun, William Troost Ekong, Alex Iwobi to mention a few.

The Super Eagles players and officials were due to depart Asaba on Sunday morning but there was a sudden change of travel plans and they eventually depart at about 1500 hours.

Nigeria’s 23-Man Africa Cup of Nations Roster

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

READ MORE:  Interview: Why Pinnick’s NFF Is The Most Corrupt In History Of Nigeria So Far - Tajudeen Disu

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)