Kwara 2023: We Will Walk Our Way Up – PDP Chair

The new Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party in Kwara State,Alh. Babatunde Mohammed on Saturday said the party will walk it way up ahead of 2023 general elections.

Babatunde Mohammed, a former Speaker Kwara State House of Assembly disclosed this after his emergence at the State Congress which held at the Atlantic Event Centre, Ilorin.

He appreciated members and leaders of the party for the confidence reposed in him and his colleagues, saying he was not unaware of the task ahead.

The former lawmaker said the party is poised to regain power in 2023, noting that the present administration of Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq has failed people of the State.

“We will start work from the grassroots and work our walk our way up. We will use the next local government elections to tell Kwara people that we are back and prepared to serve them,” he said.

FactualTimes reports that Umaru Gunu Mohammed emerged as the Deputy Chairman, Alh. Abdulrazak Lawal was elected Secretary of the party, and Tunde Ashaolu was returned as the State Publicity Secretary.

READ MORE:  Osun 2022: Who is Dele Adeleke ?

Other elected officers of the party are Alhaja Risqat Abdullahi – Women Leader, Alhaja Balikis Oniyangi – Organizing Secretary, Comrade Dan Iyan – Youth Leader, Comrade Bisi Fakayode – Senatorial Chairman, Kwara South, Alh. Babatunde Abdulkareem Owolabi – Senatorial Chairman, Kwara Central and Alhaji Shuaib – Senatorial Chairman, Kwara North.

Addressing delegates and party faithful at the Congress, former Senate President and leader of the PDP, Senator Abubakar Bukola Saraki congratulated the new executive members of Kwara PDP and charged them to begin work to return the party to power in 2023.

“The peaceful conduct of this congress has confirmed to me that we are indeed ready to take back power in Kwara. I charge all the new State officers of our party to begin work in earnest to return PDP to power in 2023,” Saraki said.

The Kwara PDP State Congress was monitored by a team from the national headquarters of the party led by Hon. John Akwarashi and officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, and they all affirmed the successful conduct of the exercise.

READ MORE:  Cross River Politics: Thousands’ Dumps APC For PDP

Party stalwarts at the Congress include; former Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed, ex-minister of Sports and Youth Development, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, Alhaji Kawu Baraje, Ali Ahmad, Senator Rafiu Ibrahim, Razak Atunwa, Mohammed Zakari, Abubakar Kanike, Ambassador Gana Yisa, among others.