A file photo of NCDC Director General, Chikwe Ihekweazu.

Ten new people have tested positive to coronavirus, bringing the total number of confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Nigeria to 184.

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) revealed in a tweet on Thursday that the total figure increased from the 174 cases reported yesterday.

This comes shortly after the Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, announced that 11 more people had been discharged from the government’s facility in Yaba.




Ten new cases of have been reported in Nigeria; 7 in Lagos and 3 in the FCT.

As at 08:00 pm 2nd April there are 184 confirmed cases of reported in Nigeria. Twenty have been discharged with two deaths

View image on Twitter
7,048 people are talking about this

In the latest tweet, the NCDC updated the number of those who recovered and have been discharged from the isolation centres to 20 – including the latest set of people.

READ MORE:  Medical Doctor Faces Court Charges For Allegedly Having Sex With Patient's Wife..

Despite the success recorded in Lagos, seven new cases were discovered in the state while the remaining three were confirmed in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).


As of 8pm on Thursday, two deaths have been recorded while the number of confirmed cases in Lagos is near 100.

Similarly, almost 40 people have tested positive for the virus in Abuja and Osun State is the third worst-hit with 14 confirmed cases.

Oyo and Akwa Ibom States have eight and five cases respectively while Ogun, Edo, and Kaduna State have confirmed four cases each.

Bauchi has also recorded three cases of coronavirus with Enugu and Ekiti States confirming two cases each while a case has been discovered in each state of Rivers and Benue.

See the a below for the full breakdown of the confirmed cases of coronavirus in Nigeria as of April 2, 2020:

Total Confirmed cases 184
Discharged 20
Death 2


READ MORE:  19 Years Of Democracy: Any Need To Celebrate?
States Numbers States Numbers
Abuja FCT 38 Abia
Adamawa Akwa Ibom 5
Anambra Bauchi 3
Bayelsa Benue 1
Borno Cross River
Delta Ebonyi
Enugu 2 Edo 4
Ekiti 2 Gombe
Imo Jigawa
Kaduna 4 Kano
Katsina Kebbi
Kogi Kwara
Lagos 97 Nasarawa
Niger Ogun 4
Ondo Osun 14
Oyo 8 Plateau
Rivers 1 Sokoto
Taraba Yobe