Over 1000 Delegates Reelect Bolarinwa as Kwara APC Chairman

Bashir Omolaja Bolarinwa


Hon Bashir Bolarinwa has been re-elected as the Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kwara State.

In a rancour-free congress witnessed by over 1000 delegates drawn across the 193 wards, sixteen (16) local government areas, and the three senatorial districts of the state, and monitored by journalists, new crops of the party’s state excos were elected through consensus affirmation.

The election by affirmation was held on Saturday, October 16, 2021, at its Secretariat situated at No 26, Reservation Road, GRA, Ilorin, the state capital

Bolarinwa enjoys the backings of the Information Minister Lai Mohammed and Minister of state for transportation, Gbemisola Saraki.

At the congress, teeming party members were seen chanting various kinds of songs, part of which is the chanting of “Bolarinwa, BOB!”.

Entertainingly, Some Women folks were also seen tracing the kaakakin(local trumpet) blowing disappointing tunes referring to the governor as “the ungrateful governor”.

The Returning Officer, Dr. Bolaji Afolabi, disclosed that the new executives emerged by the wish of the majority members of the party.

READ MORE:  Ogun: Olomore Residents Lament Hardship, Dust Haze Over Uncompleted Road Project

Other executive members elected include Chief Theophilus Adeboye Sunday Oyebiyi (vice-chairman); Issa Isiaka Agboji (Secretary); Abolaji Olaide Rahmat (women leader); Sharafudeen Ibrahim; Joseph Ndanusa Tsado (senatorial chairman North); AbdulRaheem Yusuf Akorede (Kwara Central) and Rasak Alabin(Kwara South) while comrade Sunkanmi Afolayan emerged as Youth leader.

Addressing Journalists, The elected Vice chairman, Theophilus Sunday said: “As you can see, over 1,000 delegates affirmed the new executives and we are ready to move the party forward through activities that will attract more people to the party.”

He further said that the group adequately informed the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and the National secretariat of the party of its congress.

“We hope to see them before leaving the venue.”

He, however, hinted that the new chairman, Bolarinwa was unavoidably absent at the venue of the congress due to some undisclosed reasons.

“BOB is absent for one reason or another, but as you can witness, people have clamoured for his return as chairman and that is the wish of the majority members of our party.”

READ MORE:  Seven months of rewarding customers in the Stanbic IBTC Reward4Saving promo draws

At the event, the newly elected Kwara APC local government Chairmen for 16 local government areas were also inaugurated during the event that has in attendance party bigwigs like Hon Saka Cook Olododo, Alhaji Shaiub Yaman Abdullahi, Hon Saheed Popoola, Dr Oyedepo,the Special Assistant to the Honorable Minister of Interior, Hon. Ishola Olateju and others